HorrorAddictsCon: GothHaus – Creation

GothHaus started as a suggestion from one of my staff, David. He mentioned that he thought it would be cool to have a continuing story on HorrorAddicts.net that the listeners could follow. At first, I was against doing anything like this, because it would mean a lot of extra time and work for me which I didn’t have to give. But, about two months prior to the start of Season 5, I had a revelation. What if we did a spoof of a reality show like Real World on MTV? They never have goths on those shows – not sure why – but I thought it could be really funny of six goth characters had to live in a house together and get along. I had written about six episodes when I asked Camellia Rains (voice of Jez) to come over and record the episodes I had. By the end of the recording session, we had ad-libbed almost all of the rest of the episodes. I asked a few more friends to fill in voices, including the multi-talented M. J. Hahn, podcast powerhouse Rhonda R. Carpenter, and podnovelist Kirk Warrington, and GothHaus was born. I find it funny that Star is the most requested character because she was just one I threw in for comic relief. I thought listeners would really embrace the dark and lovely Lord DarkBlood and Mistress Raven, and they did, but nothing thrills listeners more than the most popular episode – #6 The Eyeliner Incident – which includes the big fight between Fang and Jez. Later today, you will be able to listen to this episode and the entire first season of GothHaus on an upcoming post. Until then, here are messages from some of the cast and links to find out more about their work:

********

“I have done alot of things in the podcasting world but GothHaus is the most fun I have ever had. I love the show!” ~Rhonda R. Carpenter
Rhonda R. Carpenter is the founder of Lifefirst.com. She is an Author, Clinical Hypnotherapist, Handwriting Expert, Dream Analyst, and Professional Psychic. Her first novel, “The Mark of a Druid” is available in audio, Ebook and print. Rhonda is the co-founder of www.Podioracket.com where you can learn all about the new Podiobooks.com authors and Indy-Authors from all over the world. Rhonda was awarded the coveted Wicked Women Writer’s Award in 2010 for her Sexy short horror story, “Barring Lilith” She lives on a secluded ranch in Southeastern Oklahoma where she enjoys raising chickens and cows. She is happily married and the mother of 4 boys, all grown and on their own and recently a first time Grandmother.

********

Hey Star, how about a spritz of SuperShinySpray on my parasol? I calculate that would raise the reflective quotient exponentially. ~ Dan Shaurette as Professor Pendulum
From the first episode of GothHaus season one I was hooked. I used to watch reality competition shows so the concept it posed to poke fun at goths in said genre was pure awesome. I was incredibly psyched when I was given the chance to give voice to a new character for season two, the profound and prolific (and potentially pompous) Prof. Pendulum. With Pendy, M.J. Hahn seemed to channel me and created a clever caricature. I actually found it difficult to ad-lib because I thought he did such a great job scripting essentially a spot-on parody of myself. (I got in one ad-lib though, which was the sonic screwdriver bit inspired by Fang’s asking for a Doctor.) I am thrilled to hear about season three and so glad to be involved again.
Dan is a goth-geek and has been a fan of horror (especially vampires) ever since seeing Bela Lugosi’s “Dracula” as a young child. He recently podcasted his vampire novel, LILITH’S LOVE, and also hosts the Out Of The Coffin podcast. While vampires are his horror addiction of choice, Dan does not limit his preternatural proclivities to them. He is a fan of most sub-genres but prefers those that have a dark tale to tell versus pure shock-schlock. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. You can find him online at DanShaurette.com.

********

Tristy Taylor (voice of Kat an Aneshka) hails from Sonoma County, where she lives with her big bear of a husband and two tuxedo kitties. She was overjoyed to be a part of Goth Haus, as it was the perfect outlet for her inner Russian supermodel. She truly enjoyed playing a role in M.J. Hahn’s fantastic tale and hopes she can always play a part in future M.J. productions. When not recording weird and wonderful character voices, you can find Tristy doing improv with various Bay Area troupes or accosting people with puppets. You can find out more about her work atwww.createwithspirit.com.

********

“I really enjoyed playing Baz. I like him, and I liked being him. And if he’s ever set to make a comeback in GothHaus, I look forward to being him again. I only hope next time he does something truly dastardly!” ~ Mike Bennett

Mike Bennett grew up in London and Windsor and spent many years in Brighton where he wrote his first novel, ‘One Among the Sleepless.’ He published ‘One Among the Sleepless’ through his own company, Seed Publishing, in 2002. He podcast ‘One Among the Sleepless’ from 2006 – 2007, then his short story collection , ‘Hall of Mirrors’ from 2007 – 08. He is currently writing and podcasting his second novel, ‘Underwood and Flinch’. He is married and lives in Sussex,England. Underwood and Flinch has been running for nearly two years and is currently on it’s 39th Episode from Mike’s sites and iTunes. Also Underwood and Flinch has just started at Podiobooks.com. To find out more about Mike, go to: www.MikeBennettPodcast.com  /  www.UnderwoodAndFlinch.com

********

“I enjoyed working on GothHaus. It really brought out the inner BUM in me.” ~Kirk Warrington
To find out more about Kirk Warrington, go to: www.kirkcast.com

********

 

GothHaus was a great idea. When Emerian brought it up to me I loved the idea of giving the whole reality tv bit a gothic make over. I was always good with coming up with charactors and plots and when we got together to record the first parts of season one, the rest just flowed out naturally between us and we know we had something good. I loved having the chance to play Jez. It allowed me to channel my inner bitch and criminal and say and do the type of things that I wouldn’t do in my everyday life. I had mentioned the show to a couple of friends right before we did those first sessions and one of them who is a big reality tv buff said we had to do it. She thought and still thinks, that there should be a real GothHaus show. LOL! If only…

Camellia Rains earned her BA in Philosophy and Religion at SF State. She is a San Francisco born, lifelong resident of the Bay Area and has always had an interest in the darker side of life. She’s been a part of Eastern Contra Costa’s first Roller Derby team- The Undead Bettys since shortly after its inception in 2008.  She lives in the East Bay with her beloved black cat Voodoo and is currently the resident office goth at her work. When not trying to emulate her heart throb hero Penn Jillette of Penn & Teller, she can be found playing with her vast make up collection, hanging out with her derby team or at the local watering hole The Red Hat in Concord making friends and listening to very loud punk music.

To find out more about GothHaus and get a full listing of cast and characters, got to: www.gothhaus.wordpress.com

6 thoughts on “HorrorAddictsCon: GothHaus – Creation

  1. Ahhhh, GH. It’s a segment I always looked forward to hearing in every show. I can’t wait until season three. I’m gonna miss hearing those little segments until then. The party never stops with the GH brood!

    Like

  2. I liked it when they did Muskrat Love and in Season 1 I thought it was funny when Star gets the book on meditation but didn’t take the hint.

    Like

Leave a Reply

