November Horror Writing Month

Shield-Nano-Side-Blue-Brown-RGB-HiResFor all of you horror writers seeking a month of productivity, we here at HorrorAddicts.net are on your side. Achieving your goal of writing a novel (or a short story or script) can be so daunting, sometimes you just freeze up. At times like this, I take a deep breath and tell myself, this is supposed to be fun, right?

I am not a person that does well with people telling me what to do (rebel to the core), so I don’t participate in NaNoWriMo, but I know a lot of authors find it helpful and I love to watch others attain their goals through this sort of event. For those of you participating, or those of you who are like me and rebel against such things, but are still writing in November, we will be having a lot of writing-themed posts this month. I hope they help and inspire you and if you have anything to add, email us at: horroraddicts@gmail.com.

Here are some great writing quotes from some of our favorite horror icons to get you started.

I try to create sympathy for my characters, then turn the monsters loose. – Stephen King

Any man who keeps working is not a failure. He may not be a great writer, but if he applies the old-fashioned virtues of hard, constant labor, he’ll eventually make some kind of career for himself as writer. – Ray Bradbury

Words have no power to impress the mind without the exquisite horror of their reality. – Edgar Allan Poe

To write something, you have to risk making a fool of yourself. – Anne Rice

What scares me is what scares you. We’re all afraid of the same things. That’s why horror is such a powerful genre. All you have to do is ask yourself what frightens you and you’ll know what frightens me. – -John Carpenter

Searchers after horror haunt strange, far places. – H. P. Lovecraft

Horror is like a serpent; always shedding its skin, always changing. And it will always come back. It can’t be hidden away like the guilty secrets we try to keep in our subconscious. – Dario Argento

I don’t feel there’s any reason to apologise for having a wicked imagination. I think it’s important as a maker of fantasy and of horror. – Clive Barker

Good luck all you writers out there.

Now, back to work!!!

Keep writing,

~Emz

2 thoughts on “November Horror Writing Month

  1. As with each year, I won’t be participating in NaNoWri; I’m a rebel as you put it. Especially when it comes to writing, I’m very into doing my own thing (that’s not to say I don’t listen to and take into account constructive criticism; that’s always useful). But the above quotes are very inspiring and motivating! I’m looking forward to the other posts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

