Review: Dearly Departed: A Zombie Novel by Lia Habel

dearlyWhen I first started reading Dearly Departed by Lia Habel, I was really confused. It wasn’t the writing – which is great. It was the juxtaposition of the female tale and the zombie army. I have never read anything like this before and once I got into it, I couldn’t devour (pun intended) it fast enough.

Nora Dearly and her best friend, Pamela, are in the high class. They go to a preppy school, have fancy toys, and ride in fashionable carriages. And even though Pam isn’t as in with society as Nora is, they are pretty and clean and live in a posh area where they are mostly sheltered from anything disruptive. They also seem to be sheltered from anything REAL.

Bram (who… I have to say, even though he’s a zombie… I’m in love!) is an undead soldier who is from the outside world. He grew up on an farm, kills other zombies (the shambling kind) for a living and saves Nora absolutely. Not from zombies, because she is immune to the zombie plague, but from her boring existence!

This book is so new and innovative, I could not get enough and I’m happy that it appears to be a series. Not only does this book mix Victorianesque fashion and society with zombies, there are fabulous tech toys like the vid screen inside the old style carriage and digidiaries. It also has an awesome airship.

If there is anything negative about the book, I would say (because I’m not into war chronicles) that the militant Wolfe parts irritated me. I didn’t like him, which was the point, but I found these parts almost too irritating to read because I didn’t like him so much.

This book was a heartfelt love story between a girl and a zombie. I have never read any zombie story where I was jealous of the main character who got to kiss the zombie. That seems wrong somehow, but also very entertaining.

Leave a Reply

