My Boozy Valentine

It is fun to make some special and romantic things for Valentine’s day but candy hearts felt chalky, I’m too lazy to bake and I am out of patience for pretty paper snips so I thought, why not DRINKS?? So here are a couple along with a special ‘recipe’ to kind of re-invent something very pretty with your own touch as well.

~CHEERS~

Faux-nique

viniq

Who has not seen VINIQ? It is beautiful, mesmerizing, and pretty darn tasty. If you can find it I DO urge you to try it just for the novelty and experience. It comes in 375 and 750ml bottles, I found a 375ml bottle of the original purple.

It’s a bit hard to find, especially outside the US, I did not realize this until speaking with a couple of international friends!
It comes in 3 colors and flavors only and is a little on the expensive side as well so…I got to experimenting thanks to some Youtube research. Shoutouts to The Tipsy Bartender as well as Lana’s Tails for ideas. Mine is flavored differently because I used concentrated flavoring oil rather than more flavored booze. VINIQ is 20% alcohol by volume so your mix will depend on your taste as well as the proof of your Vodka and Moscato. I will post the ingredients as a guide with the proportions I used but try other white wines if you prefer drier or different tastes than a Moscato, (using still not sparkling varieties) and DO mix your finished Faux-nique with some champagne in a cocktail…I call my blue one “Jewel of the Nile”. You can mix this about 2/3 to 1/3 of other clear ingredients before the shimmer dulls too much for my taste.  It’s all about the PRETTY, but a bit of tiny bubbles from sparkling wine lightens the taste nicely. I found club soda has ‘big’ bubbles and Perrier had an off taste so your mileage may vary.

Directions:

2/3 Moscato (I used Cupcake Vinyards)

1/3 Absolut Vodka

1/2 tube of shimmer gel icing

3ml LorAnn Raspberry flavoring oil (to taste, I was going for a sort of ‘blue raspberry’ vibe but there are many flavors)

Directions: Shake the gel and flavoring oil with the Vodka until the gel is completely dissolved (easier in batches), add the Moscato and admire.

Jewel of the Nile

3 oz Faux-nique

1-2 oz Freixenet Cordon Brut (or your fave sparkling wine)

Directions: Make sure both are chilled well. Add the sparkling wine slowly to the Faux-nique to preserve the bubbles.

 

And for the guys and just for funs, I give you the Fat Bastard!

Be warned, it has a kick!

fat bastard cocktail

Mine is even fatter because I use half and half instead of the 2% milk called for in the original.

2 oz Vodka (I used Absolut)
2 oz Godiva White Chocolate Liqueur

2 oz of half-and half

Directions: Add both chilled alcohols to 2 oz half-and half and stir (or okok, 2% milk if you really WANT to)

I mixed this one 1 oz of each so mine is a skinnier Fat Bastard but richer because of the half-and-half.

I mainly chose this cocktail so I could post a prettier photo than there is on the net so yeah, it’s also a Vain Fat Bastard.
fatbastard bonus audio

Finally, a pretty Martini  and the ‘sister’ Mocktail that is easy to make and delicious.

White Chocolate Raspberry Martini

Raspberry White Chocolate Martini

1 oz Godiva White Chocolate Liqueur (many liqueurs and alcohols come in 375ml bottles btw if you do not want a full 750ml)

1-2 oz Vodka depending how strong you want it, I used 1 oz Absolut

1 oz heavy cream

2ml Lorann raspberry flavoring oil

Canned whipped cream

Fresh raspberries for garnish

Directions: Shake or stir vodka, flavoring oil and ice together, add other ingredients, shake or stir well. remove ice or strain and pour into Martini glass, garnish with whipped cream and pre-skewered fresh raspberries.

Warning, whipped cream melts faster on strong drinks so serve immediately or hold off on the whipped cream until the last minute.

For the Mocktail: leave out both of the alcohols, add an ounce of half-and-half and an ounce of water and some white chocolate syrup to taste. Torani, Ghiradelli and Monin all make one. Mix and garnish the same way.
Martini bonus audio

 

And what do we do with the left overs? Why put them in tasty Coffee Drinks the next morning, then have a Teriyaki Bloody Mary (recipe upon request with a COMMENT below) and keep the rest of the Vodka for another day…the Lorann flavoring oils are what I use to flavor my coffee and smoothies anyway without adding sugar. I use stevia instead.

 

 

1oz Godiva White Chocolate Liqueur in an Espresso Shot

1oz Godiva White Chocolate Liqueur in an Espresso Shot

 

I hope you have enjoyed this post, please drink responsibly, don’t drink and drive and if you make Faux-nique, show me your photo – I would love to see it!!

stay beautiful

Leave a Reply

