Press Release: Kevin Lucia’s Devourer of Souls from Crystal Lake Publishing

Press Release: Kevin Lucia’s Devourer of Souls from Crystal Lake Publishing

 

Kevin Lucias third installment of the Clifton Height Saga

Welcome back to Clifton Heights.

 

In Kevin Lucias latest installment of his growing Clifton Heights
mythos, Sheriff Chris Baker and Father Ward meet for
a Saturday morning breakfast at The Skylark Dinner to once again
commiserate over the weird and terrifying secrets surrounding their
town. Sheriff Baker shares with Father Ward the story of a journal
discovered in the ruins of what was once an elaborate koi pond and
flower garden, which regales a tale of regret, buried pain, and
unfulfilled debt. Father Ward reveals the story of a tortured man
from the nearby town of Tahawus, who visited his
confessionalseeking solace froma cosmic horror he can never
outrun.
souls 1Sophan Jake Burns has always been a bit…off. Rude, awkward,
sometimes brutish, he’s tolerated by Nate Slocum and his friends
because he hits a mean line drive, and because they all know but
don’t discuss the abuse he faces at the hands of his troubled father, a Vietnam veteran consumed by his demons. But Jake is suffering something far worse than domestic abuse, and when Nate discovers what, he faces an impossible choice: help Jake and put himself in the path of evil, or abandon him, only to damn himself in the process.
The Man in Yellow Stuart Michael Evans has suffered from
cerebral palsy all his life, but he’s made due. Sure, his preacher dad
is always yammering about the healing grace of God” and “God’s
will,” saying all he needs is faith and someday he’ll be healed, but
Stuart mostly ignores him. Life isn’t perfect, but it isn’t awful either,
so Stuart figures he doesn’t need God to heal him, or do anything,
for that matter. Everything changes, however, when a renowned
faith healer Reverend Alistair McIlvian pays avisit to
Tahawus annual Summer Vacation Bible School. Revival sweeps
the town as Reverend McIlvian’s healing touch makes believers out
Devourer of Souls by Kevin Lucia
ISBN: 978194478243-6 (PB);
978-1-944782-89-4 (Kindle)
$13.99 (PB), $3.99 (Kindle)
Page count: 228
Release date: April 1st, 2016
 souls2
Devourer of Souls further cements Kevin Lucia as a
distinctive voice in horror and the fantastic, and its as good a
place as any for new readers to jump in. Recommended. Josh Black,Hellnotes

The author handles the small town horror subgenre as well as anybody currently writing, and his fictional Clifton Heights sits comfortably among the many other such places on the literary horror reader’s tourist map.” Richard Wright
This is quiet horror at its best, subtle and unsettling. It lingers in your waking hours, and
transports you back to Clifton Heights in your nightmares.
Kevin Lucia is, without a doubt, the heir apparent to the legacy of the late Charles L. Grant.....a master at weaving tales of whispers and shadows...the chill touch of night fog and the sound of the wind in the eaves. John Recluse
The “Stand By Me vibe leads into the “True Detectiveone with ease, and each story is unique and will keep you guessing until the next twist. Highly recommended!”
Armand Rosamilia
““The Man in the Yellow” is some of the best small town Horror I’ve read. Nice conflict in a young man with Cerebral Palsy who sees how his dad looks at him in shame. When the Man in Yellow comes to town and brainwashes people with promises of healing, things get incredibly creepy. Goodreads review
WOW! its real easy to see why this book has so many 5 star reviews. As far as creepy
Lovcraftian/King style horror goes, it is flawless.” Goodreads review
Quality writing and superb storytelling. For fans of Charles L. Grant and H.P. Lovecraft.
Devourer of Souls is quite horror at its finest!” Goodreads review
Stephen King and Robert McCammon are arguably the two kings of the hill when it comes to comingofage horror stories. Well, if Devourer of Souls is any indication, Kevin Lucia is scratching and clawing his way to join them at that mountaintop.”
Goodreads review
The parallels being made by reviewers to Stephen King’s goldenera tales are genuine. There is a mastery of the genre blooming here. Readers take heed. With “Devourer of Souls” Kevin Lucia has earned a permanent and honored place on my shelf. I can’t wait to see what he offers up next. Goodreads review
Devourer of Souls is two short, wonderfully written tales of subtle horror, cleverly packaged within another story that seems to promise more weird tales from the town of Clifton Heights. Loved it! Slow burn horror done right, with a satisfying, creepy conclusion.” Goodreads review
Available on Amazon: Devourer of Souls
Advertisements

One thought on “Press Release: Kevin Lucia’s Devourer of Souls from Crystal Lake Publishing

  1. Pingback: Press Release: Kevin Lucia’s Devourer of Souls from Crystal Lake Publishing | Slattery's Art of Horror Magazine

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s