My Melancholy Life: Some Resources and Information About Elder Goths

MyMelancholyLife

 

Hey Addicts, Mimielle here following up on one of the questions we received from June in Dead Mail recently June writes

” I feel like I am too old to turn Goth but I just realized I’ve been one all my life without dressing like that. Now that I am 53, I know that people will think I am odd dressing that way at my age. What can I do to ease into the style without freaking out my conservative friends?”

I had quite a bit to say in episode #126 and here are some of the followup links and resources I promised.

 

 

Here is a cross-section of goths over 30, many types, many looks and ways of self-expression!

 

Some capsule wardrobe ideas including pieces that can pass in the “normie” world as well~

Thrift them, shop your closet, have a friends clothing swap night, maybe they have some secret Goth-y things hiding away!

on wednesdays

 

capsule-wardrobe-all-black--640x489

 

The free walk-in beauty services my local Sephora currently offers that could all be done with a more Goth twist:

  • Smoky Eye, (dark and a bit dramatic)
  • Essential Eyeliner (ask for Gothic cat eyes)
  • Polished Brows (arch them!)
  • Flawless Foundation (the perfected base for anything else)

 

…and finally, a couple of shots of my ‘eldergoth’ look, from earlier this year. My main style is Gothic Lolita but I range afield into Shiro (white Goth) and yeah, I have me a Stevie Nicks poncho, boots and some swirly skirts too!

12800192_10207719626741573_6930640613488870226_n
12795388_10207719683702997_6039847512669349559_n

12806261_10207719686103057_5353684456522834018_n

mimi crystal bridges

To tell you a secret though, I do not feel any more ‘eldergoth’ now than I felt ‘baby-bat’ when I was young and using a sharpie as an eyeliner!

Lagniappe…how a good friend ‘sees’ me in her drawings 🙂

13153248_10154089227339534_1453987272_n

Mimielle sig, orange

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Melancholy Life: Some Resources and Information About Elder Goths

  1. Love this post. Love the wonderful expressions of style. With age we should give ourselves permission to express ourselves even more – because we have the wisdom and experience to do it right. Sure I sit here in a hoodie and jeans looking more like an organic farmer, but I love my black and glam.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you Juliette and thank you also for taking time to comment! I completely agree about giving ourselves the permission because if not now, when? I hope my examples can inspire people to glam it up in more alternative styles whenever they feel like it and at any age! The numbers of goths over 30 are manifesting recently on YouTube as well so look for a post on that once I’ve finished watching through some more!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

