Once Upon A Scream Author Spotlight: Charles Frierman

Horroraddicts.net Publishing has recently published our 4th anthology called Once Upon a Scream. Remember the Fairy tales that you grew up reading? Well they are back again with a horror twist. Once Upon a Scream includes 18 tales that are fantastic and frightful. One of the authors in this anthology is Charles Frierman and recently he talked to us about his writing:

What is your story in Once Upon A Scream called and what is it about?

OnceUponAScreamFrontMy story is called, “Nothing to Worry About.” It’s about a man who fears “nothing” in a weird sort of way.

What inspired the idea?

Well, when I saw the anthology title, “Once Upon a Scream,” I knew I had to write something because it sounded like the greatest anthology title ever. I was so inspired that I immediately sat down and started writing just trying to keep up a creepy fairy tale feel, but I really had nothing as far as an idea, but then it turned out that nothing was something after all.

When did you start writing?

When I was a very young kid. I remember my sister and I writing a story at the same time. I can’t remember which one was mine, but one of them was about a water melon man who raced his watermelon car, and the other was, “Where the lig bulb got its light.” Yes it was spelled lig bulb for some reason and I can’t remember what it was about. The even stuck in my mind though.

What are your favorite topics to write about?

I’m not sure I have a topic but I love horror, fantasy, and fairy tales.

What are some of your influences?

My parents influenced me quite a bit. My Dad is hilarious and a great writer as well, and my my used to be a master story teller. I remember her telling me some of the same stories several times and each time, they got better and better.

What do you find fascinating about the horror genre?

It is one of the only genres where you honestly don’t know if the hero is going to prevail. Heck, half the time you can’t even be sure the hero is a hero, so for me it adds an extra unpredictability. Also I worry for the characters even more knowing that they may or may not make it through their predicament.

What are some of the works you have available?

Other than, “Once Upon a Scream,” I’m in a few other anthologies and e-zines.

On a Dark and Snowy Night – “Ice Tale”

Alterrnate Hilarities 4: Weirder Science – “Oliver Swindel and the Time Manipulator”

Infective INk.com – “Linny and the Dwarf”
What are you currently working on?

I’m always working on short stories because they are just fun to write and they always surprise me. I’m also finishing a couple of larger works, but I still need to do a lot of fine tuning on those.

Where can we find you online?

I hope to have a website up soon!

 
One thought on “Once Upon A Scream Author Spotlight: Charles Frierman

Leave a Reply

