Terror Trax: Scream Machine

TerrorTrax

 

HorrorAddicts.net recently had the opportunity to interview SinDelle M Morte of Scream Machine about their music, inspirations, and of course horror movies.

 

HA: Do you write your own lyrics/where does your inspiration come from?

SinDelle Morte: Yes, I write all my own stuff. I always wrote poetry and things like that as a kid, so this was really just a natural progression of that. Mostly my inspiration comes from current events and things like that, though I have written quite a few songs about serial killers and things like that. Basically, anything that horrifies people. LOL.

HA: What singers or bands inspired you growing up? Who are your favorite artists today?

SM: Are these supposed to be different? LOL. Mostly a bunch of hard rock and metal bands, to be honest. I take some inspiration in certain things, like from Rob Zombie or maybe BILE but most of it is stuff that would not even make sense at this time in relation to my music. Most of the stuff I listen to is the same kind of thing but I also like rap and punk, along with a huge dose of adult contemporary kind of stuff. If you can sing to it, chances are I like it.

HA: When did you first know you wanted to be a musician and how did you start out?

SM: I mean, I was always a singer but I think if I had to pick, I would say when I was about 13 that’s when I really knew that I wanted to make music. I started out just messing around with music programs on the computer. It progressed from there. My early shit is God-awful but you know, luckily it got better. Lol.

scream machine

HA: What non-musical things inspire your music? Is there a place where you go to be inspired?

SM:I read/watch a lot of Stephen King and true crime stuff. I’m what we could call a “real life horror buff” too. I am very interested in that kind of stuff. I used to have a huge collection of crime scene photos and things like that on my old computer. I’ve taken a lot of inspiration from that. I think I’ve written at least 3 songs about episodes of First 48. Lol.

HA: What’s been the greatest achievement of your band? Or, where was the coolest place to play? Where did you enjoy yourselves the most?

SM: We had a chance to be part of a compilation that benefits people with cancer called, “Electronic Saviors.” We are really proud of that.

HA: What are your favorite horror movies?

SM:Oh man. The first one is probably the Halloween franchise. I love those movies. They are simple and terrifying. The Nightmare franchise is a favorite. I love the Child Play movies and most Stephen King movies. I’m old, man. I really liked the first SAW movie. It gave me hope for the genre as a whole. I saw Sinister a few years ago and was genuinely creeped out by a horror movie for the first time in YEARS, so that was really cool. I think “The Exorcist” is the scariest movie of all time, but I wouldn’t call it a favorite. It’s too scary to be liked. Lol.

HA: What was the scariest night of your life?

SM: I remember I had a dream one night about something in the closet in my room, kind of like how it is in “Cujo”.  I was an adult, not a kid. When I woke up it was pitch black in my room. I was so scared I could not  move. That is probably the most afraid I have ever been. I was too scared to even piss myself. LOL.

HA: If you could play anywhere in the world, where would it be and who would be your opening band?

SM: Man, I don’t know. Anywhere where the people are cool and it’s not 1000 degrees. 🙂

HA: What are you working on now for any future release? Are you on tour? Where can they see you?

SM: We have a new release on the horizon called "Savages." That is slated to drop sometime this fall – probably around Halloween, of course. It’s done so we are just waiting for that. Then there might be a hiatus of sorts, because we are moving to an off grid property and may not be able to work on music for a while. We have to see what happens.

HA: What is available now that the listeners can download or buy?

SM: We have a LOT of stuff, from EPs to LPs and singles. About 30 releases.

HA: What is the website we can find it on?

SM: HorrorAddicts can find all of our stuff on Bandcamp . There is some that are free and some that isn’t. Our stuff is also available on most major digital outlets, like iTunes, Amazon, all that kind of thing.

HA: What is the best social media site for listeners to connect with you on?

SM: Twitter? Facebook? Instagram? Other? Bandcamp? Facebook is still the best one to hit us up on.

HA: What are your id’s/ web addresses?

SM: Scream Machine Bandcamp ,    Scream Machine Facebook  Scream Machine YouTube   Scream Machine Soundcloud

Leave a Reply

