Terror Trax: Grave Of Thorns

TerrorTrax

Our featured band for episode 135 of the podcast is Grave Of Thorns. Recently we asked them a few questions about their music:

 1. Band name and member names/what instrument they play. Who writes your lyrics?

7-496-desolation-1Our band is Grave of Thorns. We have two members, Thorn and Ron Graves.

Thorn ~ I write all the lyrics and sing.

Ron Graves ~ I play all the instruments.

 2. What singers or bands inspired you growing up? Who are your favorite artists today?

Thorn ~ I was really inspired by the Virgin Prunes, 45 Grave, Christian Death, Subhumans, Skeletal Family and Alien Sex Fiend. They’re still my favorite artists but more recent artists that I like are Crimson Scarlet, Fangs on Fur and Dystopian Society.

Ron Graves ~ My journey began with gothic rock and synthpop such as The Cure and Depeche Mode, but my tastes later turned darker to bands like Ministry and Skinny Puppy.  Today I enjoy all things heavy, with a few favorites being Hocico, Excision, and Meshuggah.

3. When did you first know you wanted to be a musician and how did you start out?

Thorn~ I wanted to be a musician all my life but I thought it was an impossible dream that required years of music school that I could never afford. Then one day I just thought I can do this on my own, so I did.

Ron Graves ~ I’ve never been obsessed with being a performer, but I’ve always wanted to create.  I was exposed to music theory, vocal performance, music notation, and guitar from a very young age, but my obsession with music production over the last 10 years is why I’m making music today instead of other art forms.

3-540-the-belfry4. What non-musical things inspire your music? Is there a place where you go to be inspired?

Thorn~ I’m inspired by my life experience, dreams, adventures, the plights of society and politics. The places I mostly go to be inspired is my mind and nature.

Ron Graves ~ I find patterns and contrasts a motivator to create.  When the internal struggles of hope, fear, desire and despair aren’t enough, nothing beats a walk through downtown Oakland.  There you can see really feel wealth and poverty, art and vandalism, love and hate, all shaping the city’s soul.

5. What’s been the greatest achievement of your band? Or, where was the coolest place to play? Where did you enjoy yourselves the most?

Thorn~ The greatest achievement of our band is our self-titled 4 song EP Grave of Thorns. We have yet to play live. I really enjoyed seeing my lyrics come to life and sharing that with like minded souls around the world.

Ron Graves ~ The greatest achievement has been seeing our EP from conception to completion.  The most enjoyable moments were found in the creation process and finally being able to share our work.

 6. What are your favorite horror movies?

 

Thorn~ I have a lot! Here are some from my personal collection: Kwaidan, Susperia, Nosferatu, The Hunger, The Crow, The Underworld Series, Vampire Hunter D, Vampyr, Classic Universal Monster Movies, The Fall of the House of Usher, Flatliners, The Alien series, Gothic, The Lost Boys, The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari,  Poltergeist 1982, Blood: the Last Vampire, Let the Right One In, Shaun of the Dead, The Craft, A Chinese Ghost Story.

 

Ron~ I love the suspense of Alien, the horrific humor of A Nightmare on Elm Street 3, and the gruesome effects of The Thing.

7. What was the scariest night of your life?

Thorn~ That would be telling. But I can say that I had a recent night of terror when I had an episode of sleep paralysis. I’m forming it into a song.

Ron Graves ~ My scariest night was when I was around 10.  I was in my bedroom and I saw the bathroom light turning on and off every couple seconds from under the crack in my door.  I opened my door to see who was doing it, but the light stayed off at that point and no one was there.  I spent the rest of the night buried under my blankets, wide-eyed and bathed in cold sweat.  After that, I was beset by nightmares nearly every night until I moved out of that house

8. What is available now that the listeners can download or buy? What is the website they can find it on? What is the best social media site for listeners to connect with you on? Twitter? Facebook? Instagram? Other? Bandcamp? What are your id’s/ web addresses?

Thorn~ We have videos of all four songs from our EP on YouTube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9TzsPAYXgD-m_iLPNvuQOg

Ron Graves ~ We have a self produced EP available for free on Bandcamp at https://graveofthorns.bandcamp.com/releases

Message and like the band on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/graveofthorns/

9. If you could play anywhere in the world, where would it be and who would be your opening band?

Thorn~ I would love to play at The Castle Party Gothic Festival in Poland with Alien Sex Fiend.

Ron Graves ~ Nothing beats playing to the home crowd in the SF Bay Area, and any of the great local bands could open for us. There is so much talent here it would be hard to choose!

10. What are you working on now for future release? Are you on tour? Where can they see you?

Thorn~ People can see us on YouTube. I continue to write lyrics.

Ron Graves ~ We do not have live shows booked at this time but please like us on Facebook to be notified of updates.

Leave a Reply

