USS Hornet by Kay Tracy

Since January is Vile Vacations month, Kay sent this story of a personal vacation experience. Hope you enjoy this story as much as I have.

 

I have a short tale of my “night” aboard the USS Hornet, the retired aircraft carrier, and now, floating museum in Alameda California.

I know a few folks who used to volunteer at the museum there and almost to a person, they have tales of seeing unusual “things” aboard that ship.   Thanks to my contacts, I was invited to do a science/aerospace lesson series for a youth overnight event a number of years back.   I gave my presentations, and activities had a light dinner with the youth group and settled in. We were regaled with tales of ghosts and unusual occurrences by some of the staff, but as a self-avowed “Science Nerd”  I was more than a little skeptical.

The night itself was uneventful.  The next morning, was another story.   I had finished the educational program, but we could not bring the vehicle to remove the equipment until the end of the museum hours.   Being a bit tired from two days and a night aboard, I settled into a bunk in the forward quarters overlooking the anchor chains for a short nap.   I awoke to the feeling of my head at an odd angle as if I was wedged up against a wall.   I reached my arm up to push myself down to a more comfortable position, only to find I was nowhere near the bulkhead or cabinet!   I attempted to sit up in the bunk, with no luck,  It felt now as if someone were sitting on my shoulders!   I took a breath, and, keeping my eyes closed, “calmly” said; “If I am in your bunk, I apologize.  If you will get up a moment, I will get up and leave it to you!”  The weight lifted, and I quickly opened my eyes and got up.    I moved to a small table nearby and sat where I could see the bunk I had been in.   I never saw anything move, or appear in that space, though when my co-presenter returned from fetching a soda, she looked at me and remarked “Are you alright? You look as if you have seen a ghost!”     I never did “see” anything, but I can say what transpired is nothing that I can explain with science.   I have since become a founding member of the Society for Unusual Manifestations.

Leave a Reply

