The NEXT GREAT HORROR WRITER Contest Contestants Announced!

At last! After months of submissions, judging, and deliberating, We have our top 14 writers competing in the #NGHW contest! Follow your favorite, cheer them on, and keep up with the show to find out who wins. For more information, subscribe to the #NGHW blog.

JONATHAN FORTIN
Age: 29
From: El Cerrito, CA, USA

Twitter

As a child, Jonathan Fortin was perpetually terrified, so of course he grew up to be a horror writer. Haunted by tales that grow in his head like demonic children, Jonathan believes that a good horror story is first and foremost a good story—just one where particularly awful things happen.
Facebook / Website

FEIND GOTTES
Age: 44
From: Dewittville, NY, USA

Twitter

A late night viewing of Phantasm lit a terrible spark that led Feind to Stephen King then to the fantastical worlds of Clive Barker. Feind attempts to weave all the many facets of horror into his own tales using metal as his inspiration. Shhhh… he’s right behind you!

Facebook / Website

TIMOTHY G. HUGUENIN
Age: 27
From: Bartow, WV USA

Twitter

Timothy G. Huguenin grew up in Appalachia, a storytelling culture, where ghost tales around the camp fire are common. He wants to be a strong literary voice for West Virginia as well as for horror in general. Major influences are King and Poe, and he’s really digging Ligotti right now.  Facebook / Website

HARRY HUSBANDS
Age: 27
From: Peterborough, UK

Facebook

Harry spends the majority of his day in an office. In the evening, he writes furiously all the disturbed imaginings dwelled upon while completing banal admin tasks. He crafts tales with subtle terror that are dipped in humor and roasted slowly over an infectious passion for all things horror related.

NACHING KASSA
Age: 41
From: Valley, WA, USA

Twitter

Naching T. Kassa devours fear, breathes terror, and bleeds dread. She has loved horror ever since she was a child and that passion has never wavered nor died. She knows the joy of fright and her greatest wish is to spread the madness among her readers. Join her journey today.
Facebook / Pintrest / Website

AE KIRK
Age: 30
From: Devon, England

Twitter

“I’m a 30 year old Stephen King admirer with a penchant for writing about the dead. I live in the UK with my husband and my non-brave Cavalier King Charles called Ginny. I work in the Healthcare Sector by day and by night I scare the pants off my readers.”

JESS LANDRY
Age: 30
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Facebook

Since the day she was born, Jess Landry has always been attracted to the darker things in life. Her fondest childhood memories include getting nightmares from the Goosebumps books, watching The Hilarious House of Frightenstein, and reiterating to her parents that there was absolutely nothing wrong with her mental state.
Twitter /  Website

JC MARTINEZ
Age: 27
From: Metepec, Estado de México, México

Facebook

“I used to be afraid of the dark. I wouldn’t go as far as saying that, now, the dark is afraid of me, but I do know that since I’ve embraced it, it’s filled my dreams with beautiful nightmares. Nightmares that I hope to scare the whole world with.”
Website

PATRICK R. McDONOUGH
Age: 28
From: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA

Facebook

“Everything I fear, hate, love, and am passionate about, as well as the what-if scenarios, are the ingredients to my stories. Reality is the perspective of an individual…and horror is a shifting-reality with an endless supply of terror.”
Twitter / Website

QUENTIN NORRIS
Age: 26
From: Austin, Texas, USA

Facebook

For as long as he can remember, Quentin Norris has been afraid of the dark.  This fear was a hindrance to him, but one day he realized that he could harness this fear.  Now he uses his terror as inspiration to craft the most spine-tingling tales for his audience.

RILEY J. PIERCE
Age: 31
From: Rice Lake, WI, USA

Twitter

“When things go bump in the night, some will pray it is the wind. I will pray it is not. For as long as I can remember, I’ve sought out horror and the unknown. From Alvin Schwartz to William Peter Blatty, horror has been my lifelong companion. Writing has allowed me to become a literary Frankenstein, and I can’t wait to introduce the monsters I’ve created.”
Website

SUMIKO SAULSON
Age: 48
From: Oakland, CA, USA

Twitter

“Horror is my primary literary genre. My parents were ardent fans. I read my first horror novel, Peter Straub’s Ghost Story, when I was ten. For me, horror is about processing our primal fears as a species and attempting to survive in hostile environments. I find writing horror supremely therapeutic.”
Website

DAPHNE STRASERT
Age: 27
From: Houston, Texas, USA

Facebook

“To be honest, I’m a coward. Yet, I adore putting my fear on paper. I love to transform words into a reality that slithers off the page and claws inside you. I write so you feel my terror crawl up your spine and turn you into a coward like me.”

Twitter / Website

CAT VOLEUR
Age: 22
From:  Mobile, Alabama, USA

Twitter

Cat Voleur lives and breathes horror. She runs a blog that celebrates the genre in all its mediums because she loves sharing that passion and supplying scares to fellow horror junkies. Now her attention has turned to writing fiction about what she knows best; fear.
Leave a Reply

