#NGHW News: Interview with Contestant A.E. Kirk

Get to know the contestants of the Next Great Horror Writer Contest!

What do you love about horror?
I love the way that horror can be adaptive. It’s not like a love story where the two people fall in love at the end, or a fantasy story where the epic battle has been won. With horror there are all sorts of endings, happy, sad, angry, frustrating or leaving you hanging with your own imagination. It’s boundless. And anyone can be got to in horror, whether you think it does or not. There is always that niggling feeling in your brain where you have watched or read a horror film or book and you think, “That could happen” even when your logical brain is telling you one thing, you still have an essence of fright in side you. That’s what I love about horror. It lingers.

What was the first horror movie/story/book/show that you fell in love with?
Goosebumps, ChickenChicken hands down. RL Stein was my idol when I was younger. I went to Florida and headed to MGM studios and had my head slapped onto the book cover of ChickenChicken. He was amazing.

Can you describe the sort of horror stories you write?
I write about ghosts and demons, mostly. I have a book series that is about a guy who can hear and speak to the dead. However, how I write each book is like a documentary and a lot of people believe that my character is real and what he has gone through is real, which is why they are unnerved.

Do you listen to music while you write? If so, what?
Yes, all the time. I love soundtracks to films when I write. Currently, I’m listening to Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.

Do you have any hobbies besides writing?
I’m sad to say that my hobbies are limited as I have a full-time job where it takes up about 80% of my time during the week, even the weekends. When I’m on my holidays, I love to bake, read Andy McDermott and play Kingdom Hearts on PS4.

What is your favorite part about writing?
I love the research involved in writing. A lot of people don’t tend to research, but I will literally visit the places where I want to write about. I love conducting my own phenomenology.

What is your favorite word?
Oubliette.

What is your least favorite word?
Splinch. Thank you JK Rowling!

What turns you on in a book?
Getting to the end and knowing you have read a book that’ll be with you for life. Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn… never, EVER forget them.

Why should people be on team AE Kirk?
I don’t disappoint with my writing. I’m fairly consistent and I love to torment people with cliff hangers, and wtf moments. I try and keep my readers guessing and like with George R.R. Martin, anyone is fair game. No one is safe from the most gruesome of demises.

Follow the #NGHW Contest, this season on HorrorAddicts.net!

4 thoughts on “#NGHW News: Interview with Contestant A.E. Kirk

Leave a Reply

