Artist Interview: Njaydee

Recently, HorrorAddicts.net had a great opportunity to interview another artist: Njaydee. We enjoyed the opportunity to get to know him better, and hope you find this interview as fun to read as it was to do!                                                          

  1. HorrorAddicts: What is your name? Professional name?                                                                         Njaydee: I go by a lot of names, tall guy with the afro, fly boy, whatever you want. But my birth name is Nicholas Jay Delgado- or my artist name is Njaydee (pronounced: EN-JAY-DEE). They are just my initials all mashed together- thought it was pretty clever.                                                                                                            
  2. HA: Where do you come from?                                                                                                                                                                                                                            NJ: I am from the California, East Bay area- born and raised actually.                                               
  3. HA: What is your first memory of horror?                                                                                                                                                                     NJ: My first memory that I have of horror was actually reading and trying to watch those damn Goosebumps stories. That intro- when it got to the dog part when his eyes turned evil red- that always freaked me out. The puppet was the worst. But after growing up a bit I now find all those things ridiculously hilarious- especially since Jack Black was a reboot for it.                                                                                                                                                                         
  4.  HA: I saw this photo, and it looks like a maze! What was your inspiration for this piece?                                                                         NJ: Its funny you say that- because I always use to draw mazes. I absolutely adored drawing mazes- and with a pen to, not even with a pencil. And as a kid, I rarely messed up. I actually miss doing those and want to incorporate mazes a little bit more with what I do now.                                                                                                                  
  5. HA: Who was your inspiration as a child?                                                                                                                                                              JA: Nobody truly inspired me when I was a child, to be honest. No one in my family- no one around me- nobody really did any art for a career- it was just a hobby. There was other things that inspired me as a child though- books of mazes, tv, music, movies, video games, video games, and especially video games.                                                                                 
  6. HA: Have you always wanted to be an artist?                                                                                                                                                            JA: I wanted to be an artist when I was a kid- maybe in the 5th grade or so when I had a thought. But as school got harder- I started growing up doing teenager things- I never really wanted to be an artist. Because I had completely forgotten all about it- or I wanted to repress it. It was only until I was pretty much done with school and couldnt leave the school campus for some stupid reason- I took about 3 to 4 study hall classes during my senior year. That is of course when I started to draw religiously straight out of boredom. Remembering then what I wanted to do with my life and how I forgot about it years ago. It sounds bad, but if I wouldn’t have taken those study hall classes, I probably would have a decent regular job by now.                                                                                                                               
  7. HA: What is your favorite medium?                                                                                                                                                                              JA: I like to work with ink for the most part. Although I am finding myself mixing ink with watercolor right now- and I love it.                                                 
  8. HA: Who is your current favorite artist?                                                                                                                                                                     JA: I have A LOT of favorite artist. I’ll name a few and if you havent seen their stuff, you need to be butchered: Godmachine, Charles Lister, Dave Correia, Alex Pardee, Dan Mumford, Skinner, Coki Greenway I can go on.                                                                                                                                                                                       
  9. HA: How would you describe your style?                                                                                                                                                                 JA: It sounds like a cliché, I know- but the only way I can actually make sense of it is if you tell me, I love what people have to say. But for the most part, I have a very grim style with a little bit of what I like to call creepy cutseyto it. I try to be as uninviting as possible with my work to make the viewer feel more like a rebelliously comfortable little creep the longer they stare at it.                                                                 
  10. HA: Do you make videos of you creating all of your pieces?                                                                                                                        JA: I am guessing you are referring to the one I did back in 2014 haha- that was a fun piece. I was really into the walking dead/zombie scene and I wanted to make some sort of video of the process I go through on photoshop for all the people who were curious about the steps- turns out I made more videos after that and enjoyed doing it! (You can find this and all my other videos I did on my Facebook linked below!)                                                                      
  11. HA: How do you start your pieces?                                                                                                                                                                            JA: I either sketch out all of my stuff on photoshop or just in my sketchbook of any ideas that I have leeched off of regarding musical lyrics, surroundings, other art or artist, video games, and much more- those are just the some of the main ones.                                                      
  12. HA: Do you approach the same steps to create works, or are they specific to what type of medium you are using?                                                                                                                                                        JA: I have different steps for different mediums. For paintings- I first finalize all of my sketches on Photoshop or make them look the way I want. I then project that onto a canvas and trace the line work. After that it’s just all up to the paint- then ill layer ink over the line work. For digital pieces- it’s all on my Facebook and Instagram that is linked below. But when getting ready to make anything, that’s what you have to do in order to make everything- I am a lazy person sometime. But as one of my favorite mentors once said, “Just do it!-Shia LaBeouf.                                                                                                                                                                                                               
  13. HA: Where does your inspiration come from?                                                                                                                                                           JA: A very personal and confusing question. I believe inspiration comes from the crazy decrepit mind as well as everybody elses around you- no one and everyone understands you. And cats are a big inspiration. Take that as you will. Regarding the second part of the question, I always listen to music or podcasts in the background of creating art- no tv or movie background noise. I would probably procrastinate SO MUCH if I wasn’t listening to anything.                                                                                                                                                           
  14. HA: What is the hardest part of being an artist?                                                                                                                                                          JA: I think it is fair to say that every artist knows the hardest thing about being an artist- money makes the world go around, and pays for my damn paint and bills.                                                                                                                                                                                                                       
  15. HA: What are you working on next?                                                                                                                                                                            JA: There are so many things to create- it would be impossible to say what I want to create next. And because I probably dont know it yet haha. As for mediums- I like where I am right now and never really thought of any other mediums that seriously. But who knows- I am still learning and could go full on acrylic the next day.                                                                                                                                                                      
  16. HA: What is your favorite piece?                                                                                                                                                                                 JA: There are pieces currently under disclosure that I really adore just based on the fact of all the work that went into it and how it turned out- if you follow me you will see what it is eventually- But I know for a fact I will have another favorite tomorrow.                                                                                                  
  17.  HA: What advice would you give to another artist?                                                                                              JA: This doesn’t have to be directed towards artist- but to anyone in general. You have to follow your heart because you love what you do- not because of anything else- even though the side stuff that comes along with it is good and bad- that is just life- it has its pros and cons. NEVER EVER do art to become famous. It is INSANE how many young people want to become famous! A famous musician, artist, actor, YouTuber, whatever it is! If you want to be famous use a bullet, but if you want to be happy, do whats in your heart.                                                                                                                  
  18. HA: What are you working on right now?                                                                                                                                                                    JA: I am currently hanging up some pieces at Raquel Amaral Studio/Art Gallery until may 13th. I will also be there on the 13th if you want to personally meet me for a beer.                                                                       
  19. HA: What do you have planned to work on next?                                                                                                                                                      JA: The next thing I have planned at least, will be Mama De Luna Art Gallery for their upcoming Sinshow. I have heard a lot of praise, and if you are interested in meeting up with me there or you want to show off some art you have locked up in your the basement lets show these creeps our artwork.                                                                                                                                 
  20. HA: Is there anything you would like to say before we conclude?                                                                                                                        JA: I just want to thank every creep for being a part of my life and I am so humbled to have met any other creep to push me along the road so far- and it is a long road. I also want to thank Emerian Rich for my very first interview based on my art! I can not thank Emerian enough for picking my art out of the crowd and realizing a common but twisted ground we both and all share. So thank you again. P.S. Hi Mom.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           Facebook: facebook.com/Njaydeee                                                                        Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/njaydee/ or @Njaydee

 

Leave a Reply

