Book Review: Hallelujah by F.E. Feeley Jr. and Kim Fielding


Review by R.L. Merrill

Hallelujah is Hauntingly Poignant

Can you hear it?

Whispering in the dark.

Secrets only the dark knows.

Joseph Moore, choir director for the First Baptist Church of Lenora, Nebraska, has secrets of his own. Terrible, lonely secrets. One that involves natural human desire. One that calls forth powers he cannot begin to understand. Both with the potential to destroy him and those he loves.

Now the world is changing. The darkness, the shadows, the ghosts, are closing in—and Joseph and his lover, Kevin, are being stalked by a merciless demon, hell-bent on possession.

Can you hear it now?

There in the dark.

It’s whispering your name.

I’ll never listen to the song the book is named for the same again. Joseph is such a strong character, and he’s forced to deal with unspeakable tragedy after tragedy. As a choir director, Joseph hoped to live a life of service to the church, and what he got was so much darker. A demon is stalking him and others like him, and it will not stop until it’s snuffed out Joseph’s light.

Fielding and Feeley have created a world unlike anything I’ve read before, a world where a family descended from powerful beings must battle for the right to live and love. This is not your typical romance, nor is it your typical horror novel. Instead, it’s a story that crosses genres and digs deep into history and different cultures to bring forth a literary journey like none I’ve experienced. Fans of Stephen King’s Dead Zone and The Stand, as well as Rick R. Reed’s horror novels will love this original tale.

There are many versions of this song, but this one by Jeff Buckley is my favorite. The man has such a haunting voice, and his story is tragic. A life taken too soon. I find it an interesting parallel to the book. I hope you’ll give Hallelujah a chance. 


About the Authors:

Kim Fielding has migrated back and forth across the western two-thirds of the United States and currently lives in California. She’s a university professor who dreams of being able to travel and write full-time. She also dreams of having two perfectly-behaved children, a husband who isn’t obsessed with football, and a house that cleans itself. Some dreams are more easily obtained than others. Kim donates 100% of the royalties from her self-published stories and audiobooks to Doctors Without Borders.

F.E. Feeley Jr. is a believer in magic, in music, in literature, art, and those things that connect us all. Born in Detroit, Michigan, Feeley is a veteran of the United States Armed Services. Feeley has written eight novels in the past six years, including Memoirs of the Human Wraiths, Closer, When Heaven Strikes, The Color of Love, Borderland, and Hallelujah. Feeley has published a collection of Poetry in his book, Heaven Underneath the Sound of the World. Married to the love of his life, John, Frederick resides in Southeast Texas where they take care of their cat, Ms. Abigail Adams.