#NGHW News: Interview with Contestant : JC Martínez

What do you love about horror?

The gut-wrenching goosebump it gives you, that spreads all over your body through your spine.

What was the first horror movie/story/book/show that you fell in love with?

It’s a tie between 1988’s film Daffy Duck’s Quackbusters and 1993’s videogame Zombies Ate My Neighbours.

 
Can you describe the sort of horror stories you write?

Is “no” an acceptable answer? I never follow a single line of thought when it comes to writing horror. I am fond of the supernatural, and very much like a good thriller, but I could not give a specific label as to the sort of stories that I write.
Do you listen to music while you write? If so, what?

I usually prefer to write in silence, so I just listen to the beats of my heart.
Do you have any hobbies besides writing?

Reading books, watching films and TV shows, and listening to music are my most important hobbies. I also love to eat… sweets, mostly.
What is your favorite part about writing?

Dreaming up stories, even before putting them on paper. Also, I am very fond of writing dialogue.
What is your favorite word?

In English, my favorite word is “sentient”. In Spanish, it’s “decididamente,” which translates to “decidedly”.
What is your least favorite word?

“Responsibilities” Both in English and Spanish.
What turns you on in a book?

Its cadence. If it hooks me and makes me want to keep reading until the very end, it’s golden.
Why should people be on team JC?

With me, they are in for a wild ride. I will fill their dreams with the sweetest nightmares.

 

Follow the #NGHW Contest, this season on HorrorAddicts.net!

4 thoughts on “#NGHW News: Interview with Contestant : JC Martínez

Leave a comment