An Interview With J. Malcolm Stewart

Our featured author for Episode 127 of the Horror Addicts Podcast is J. Malcolm Stewart no stranger to HorrorAddicts.net. We have reviewed his books The Eyes Of The Stars and Look Back In Horror: A Personal History of Horror Film. He has also had stories in The Horror addicts Guide To Life and Once Upon a Scream Recently we asked J. Malcolm Stewart to tell us more about his writing:

13798345What will you be reading for episode 127 of the podcast?

I will be reading from my novel The Eyes of the Stars.

What is your story in Once Upon A Scream called and what is it about?

The name of my story is “Mr. Shingles” and it concerns some Bay Area boys who go searching for a wish granting troll under the Carquinez Bridge in order to solve a life or death problem. Of course, given the way this anthology works, this little meeting of the minds goes horribly wrong.

What inspired the idea?

Actually, given the fragmented way my mind works, I had been wanting to write a horrific tribute to Dr. Seuss. Thanks to the editors, I was able to live the dream.

When did you start writing?

Some might say I am still not started yet… But those buttheads aside, I started writing down stories and ideas sometime in elementary school. I also spent my youth reading anything I could get my hands on and watching the worst kind of horror, monster and exploitation movies I could. This life of mind crime lead me to where I am today.

What are your favorite topics to write about?

Folklore, mythology, religion and fantasy are my bread and butter. But I’ve tried writing almost every type of genre except for a straight romance ( at least, not it yet…)

What are some of your influences?23200641

King, Straub, Barker and Lovecraft on the horror side. Tony Morrison and Don Delillo on the legit side (though I have no delusions that I do anything like them, other than speaking English). A score of horror comic book writers of ages past like Moore, Wein, Wolfman, Goodman, Starlin and DeMatteis. If you have written a low-budget horror movie in the last 90 years or so, you have a special place in my heart.

What do you find fascinating about the horror genre?

Horror fiction deals with people as they are rather than how we aspire for them to be. Every other form of genre fiction requires a hero. Horror is not caught in that convention, so you can work outside of the box.

What are some of the works you have available?

My novel-length thriller “The Eyes of the Stars” can be found at Double-Dragon-ebooks.com in both e-book and paperback. My short story collections “Exodus From Mars” and “The Last Words of Robert Johnson” are available now on Amazon.com along with my non-fiction collection of horror film essays , “Look Back in Horror: A Personal History of Horror Film”

What are you currently working on?

I’ve just finished two short story pieces, one for another anthology and one for general submission. I also have an insane dream to finish my next novel, a prequel to “The Eyes of the Stars” and my follow-up to “Look Back in Horror” before 2017.

Where can we find you online?

https://about.me/jaymal is my webpage, Sabbx’s Retro Reviews is my blogsite, my twitter is @sabbathsoldier, my YouTube feature where I review indie films is SEVEN MINUTE TAKES, I have a Facebook page, an Amazon author page… Uhhh, that’s probably everything other than my home phone number.

Leave a comment