January’s Blog Theme: The Seven Deadly Sins

January’s theme is The Seven Deadly Sins.

by Mimielle

Seven little words that can judge, condemn,  even damn but…can also be meditative points of introspection giving us a clye to our innermost drives, needs and secret desires…do you dare dive in and explore, write, re-envision them? Claim them even?

We all have our faults but can we really sew our greatest one up in a tidy bundle from a simple list of words? The ‘Seven Deadlies’ have become rote for some or are even unknown to others, a source of secret shame for many or…a chameleon’s deadly dance for others still as we realize we have one, own it, only to sometimes be overtaken by yet another later in life or another…in a litany of faults that few (if any) ever escape.

So…which is yours? Tell us in the comments below, write about it, play with it! Maybe you will be inspired after seeing and reading some different representations and not just the usual bare and spare single-word list! 800px-Tableau_de_mission_-François-Marie_Balanant_tableau_1-

An allegorical image depicting the human heart subject to the seven deadly sins, each represented by an animal (clockwise: toad = avarice; snake = envy; lion = wrath; snail = sloth;pig = gluttony; goat = lust; peacock = pride).

From Dante’s Inferno, a slightly more descriptive list than the usual single words. Which one is yours?

  1. luxuria (lechery/lust)
  2. gula (gluttony)
  3. avaritia (avarice/greed)
  4. acedia (sloth/discouragement)
  5. ira (wrath)
  6. invidia (envy)
  7. superbia (pride)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

art by Marta Dahlig

stay beautiful




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s