Vile Vacation Idea: Winchester Mystery House

Okay, Okay, how many times have we seen this destination and thought, blah whatever? Yes, I know. So, a little more than a decade ago, when I was still young I went to the mansion. I boarded a flight to California and stayed there for a week.

sarahnmansion

I visited a lot of fun places but this one was supposed to be the best. We all know the story, but a little background: The mansion was continuously under construction 24hrs to appease spirits. Sarah Winchester, owner and widow of THE Winchester maker of guns, loved séances. Who didn’t in her time? It was what all the cool kids were doing! In the séance, Sarah was advised to build and keep building in order to appease the spirits of those murdered by her husband’s guns.

Rooms that lead to nowhere, walls, and even holes in floors, this was guaranteed to be creepy and fun! So, I woke up early the day I was to visit, and went on the tour with anticipation. I didn’t feel anything. I felt like all people around were not of the undead variety. I thought, okay after the tour. I will experience something.

After the tour, I walked around the grounds in hopes to run into gardeners of the past, or even scary spirits. Alas, I was not so lucky. Sad and terrible vacation. I didn’t experience anything and I wanted to! I think I scared all the spirits away because I wanted so much to see or experience something…. maybe next time if I find myself in the area again.

 

Have you been to the Winchester Mansion? How was your experience? I would love to hear about it!

3 thoughts on “Vile Vacation Idea: Winchester Mystery House

  1. Pingback: Winchester House, Man! | timwburke

  2. I’ve been there many times and only experienced once. It was not in the main house tour. It was in the basement tour. I felt a presence there that wasn’t modern and the sounds of soldiers is what I could compare it to. Old guns being loaded, shuffling, that sort of thing. A voice, but I couldn’t make out the words. It wasn’t a strong presence thing…it was like…very light and then it was gone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment